Apple, Inc.

Sad that this is first result on Google images, rather than an actual apple...

iTunes, the the main valve of the ironically heartless Apple Corporation, is putting together a “Best Of” award for 2009, one for albums and one for songs. The word “best” is thrown around much too carelessly in this situation, as the shortlist is simply made up of some of the highest selling units in the iTunes store. Call me a jaded music whore (a lot of people already do), but any “best of” list that seriously considers the likes of Animal Collective and Biffy Clyro to be comparable to Black Eyed Peas and Kings of Leon loses all credibility in my book (admittedly, Black Eyed Peas’ older material could be worth the competition, but “Boom Boom Pow” should not be considered valid competition except for in lap dance contests at frat parties around America).

Adding to the almost inevitable headache, iTunes is allowing fans of their facebook page to vote on a best album and best song of 2009 as well. The prestigious nominees include Lady GaGa (ew), JLS (whoever that is), and Alexandra Burke (who won a TV show in England called “The X Factor,” which I’ve never watched, which means I’ve never heard her, which means I probably don’t like her).

The full list of nominees is below (average):

The iTunes editors’ choices for Best Album of 2009 are:

Empire Of The Sun – ‘Empire Of The Sun’
Florence & The Machine – ‘Lungs’
Kasabian – ‘West Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum’
La Roux – ‘La Roux’
Major Lazer – ‘Guns Don’t Kill People, Lazers Do’
Paolo Nutini – ‘Sunny Side Up”
The Horrors – ‘Primary Colours’
The Invisible – ‘The Invisible’
The Temper Trap – ‘Conditions’
The xx – ‘The xx’

The iTunes editors’ Best Song of 2009 shortlist is:

Animal Collective – ‘My Girls’
Biffy Clyro – ‘That Golden Rule’
Black Eyed Peas – ‘Boom Boom Pow’
Dizzee Rascal – ‘Bonkers’
Gossip – ‘Heavy Cross (Fred Falke Remix)’
Jack Penate – ‘Tonight’s Today’
Jay-Z feat. Alicia Keys – ‘Empire State Of Mind’
Kings Of Leon – ‘Use Somebody’
La Roux – ‘In For The Kill’
Phoenix – ‘1901’