The other day, I was chilling in a 3D Design class. I say “chilling” because I’m not actually in this class; I have the professor for the class before, know a good portion of the students in the class, and have nothing more worthwhile to do with that period of time until more screen printing orders come in at work, so I bring my laptop and mingle with my fellow art students. This is a very laid back class anyways, so much so that I got away with gluing some random toothpicks to the table and naming it “Spear.”

Like I was saying, though, I was chilling in this class, and my friend put on some music video about not being a robot or something. My initial reaction was, “Oh, Dan’s going to play yet another fun, mildly catchy jam that I’ll bob my head to and forget about by the end of class. Cool. I wonder when he’s going to pick another Lady GaGa single.”

Then the song started… and I liked it. I actually liked it a lot. By the end of the video, I was mentally humming along with the chorus, and I couldn’t get it out of my head. The infectious hook had latched onto the inside of my skull, and I couldn’t undo it, but I was kind of alright with that. There was something so delightful about it. This was just a really good pop song.

“Guess what… I am not a robot!”

Just in case you were too lazy to read that subject at the top of this page (which is unlikely, especially if you just took the time to read that rather pointless story that didn’t even end with me finding five dollars), the song I’m talking about is “I am Not a Robot” by Marina and the Diamonds. The song empowers the listener and elevates him/her into the cosmos. Marina’s voice shows some signs of vulnerability, but for the most part, especially during the anthemic chorus, she asserts herself as a majestic force to be reckoned with. Under this frame rest lyrics dealing with a subject matter that sounds a bit silly on paper but feels quite personal and meaningful nonetheless.

“It’s okay to say you’ve got a weak spot.
You don’t always have to be on top.
Better to be hated than love, love, loved for what you’re not.”

Yeah, I might love this song. Just a bit.

-Tim

