I know I’m late to the party on this, but DAMN, is Regina Spektor amazing. I’ve recently been perusing her discography, and there’s nothing I seem to enjoy more than her 2004 album Soviet Kitsch. I don’t know what’s regularly considered her best album, or what I’m SUPPOSED to be falling head-over-heels for, but I’ve fallen completely in love with this.

From the tenderness of “Carbon Monoxide” to the fury of “Your Honor,” Spektor here shows so many sides of her piano-based anti-folk songwriting genius. She alludes to Fitzgerald and Hemingway in “Poor Little Rich Boy,” and it feels almost like an afterthought, it’s so casual. But it’s all delivered so deliberately. It’s brilliance in the same vein as Ben Folds (though Spektor has a very different style, if the comparison still makes sense).

She’s incredible, but in particular on Soviet Kitsch. The whole album is addictive. It’s beautiful, it’s nasty, it’s powerful, it’s light and fun. I’m honestly completely taken aback by this. Again, I know I’m late to the party, but get this now.

