In a fairly recent discussion about albums worth checking out based solely on their artwork, my friend Rick brought up Timber Timbre’s self-titled third studio album (first on Toronto-based record label Arts & Crafts), and something about it caught my attention immediately. Not that it’s a particularly amazing work of art or anything; I guess I’m simply a sucker for black-and-white photography. The composition was rather enjoyable. As a result of this and my occasional musical agreements with Rick, I decided, “What the heck? I’ll give this a try.”

Timber Timbre is the bluesy folk rock project of singer-songwriter Taylor Kirk, named after a play on the words “timbre” (for his guitar) and “timber” (for his father). For my introduction, I chose “Demon Host,” the opening track to Timber Timbre and first result on YouTube. My thoughts?

Taylor’s voice took a bit for me to get comfortable with. It sounds rather warm and inviting over the cool acoustic guitar, but something about it just didn’t rub me quite right at first. Lyrically, there are some good moments, but the constant couplets feel a bit forced at times. At his best, he flows smoothly from line to line, delivering his words rather naturally while retaining the rhyme and meter; at his worst, he feels choppy as a tenth-grader’s poetry assignment. In spite of these complaints, I did enjoy the song and will likely check out the rest of the album when I get the chance.

“Oh reverend please can I chew your ear?
I have become what I most fear
And I know there’s no such thing as ghosts
But I have seen the demon host”

-Tim

