Jeff Mangum

Who knew the first new material from Jeff Mangum in years would come in the form of a Chris Knox cover? Either way, here you have it. Mangum is one of several artists (including The Mountain Goats, Yo La Tengo, and several tasty others) featured on a new tribute album for the the indie-rocking, stroke-surviving, New Zealand-ing musician. Click this link to purchase the album and hear 30 second sound-clips from each song, and by “each song,” I mean scroll down and excitedly get ready to hear a recording of Jeff Mangum’s voice that doesn’t have over seventy plays in your iTunes library.

Even though it is only 30 seconds long, one can’t help but smile at hearing Mangum, our very own Papa Bear in many ways, nervously toss his voice along the lines of a melody again. Just as I noted when I first saw the YouTube videos of Mangum playing on the Elephant 6 Holiday Surprise tour last year, I find Mangum’s voice more beautiful than ever before, more tender. I’d be wasting my time if I started to go into details about how sure I am that Mangum’s full-scale return to the music world is imminent, as I’ve said it before. But I will say this much; that man’s voice has the ability to put a smile on my face like almost nothing else. What more could anyone ask for?

Update: I guess I now know what we could ask for. Friend of the blog, Rhetoric, has sent me a link to the full song. Check it out here.

