Thom Yorke

Making Twilight movies cool since... the first Twilight movie.

I’m going to request that you do something that may be difficult for many; I need you to put away all your preconceived notions about Twilight. Yes, I know it is our sacred duty as Bohemians to hate anything and everything popular (I’m being sarcastic, which is very Bohemian of me) but how many of us can honestly say we’ve even given the Twilight books a chance? I can. And they suck, but that’s not the point. If there’s one thing that can make a Bohemian change their stance on something, it’s Radiohead. Therefore, I recommend you check on Thom Yorke’s track from the New Moon soundtrack.

“Hearing Damage” may sound pretty sophisticated and dense to some, but Radiohead fans know that this is actually pretty simplistic music for Thom. A pulsing backbeat and a programmed drum sample are pretty much all that drive the music. However, Thom’s voice and killer sense of melody paint a strikingly sincere picture of love on the cold, electronic canvas.

I, like many, was a little apprehensive when I heard Thom Yorke was not only contributing music to New Moon (as he did with the first Twilight movie), but that he had written a song specifically for the movie. I formed my lips to scream “sell out,” but just as the lyrics of “Hearing Damage” speak to an unnamed love, I will now speak to Thom: “You can do no wrong in my eyes.”

