I miss Weezer. There is something very surreal about saying that, as Weezer is still making music. Still, no Weezer fan can deny that Rivers Cuomo’s pop-rock outfit has lost its edge. Don’t get me wrong; there are aspects of their recent records that I really enjoy. The Red Album was more solid of a record than it’s predecessor, Make Believe. I was hoping this was signaling an improvement of the band’s new sound. Then I saw these videos.

Grudgingly, I think I’m finally accepting a fact I’ve been denying for my entire tenure as a Weezer fan; this band sucks now. Luckily, that doesn’t much matter, as Weezer is one of the few bands who have released an album so groundbreaking, so emotionally charged, that no matter what they do, they will always have that record behind them. For Weezer, that album is Pinkerton. Here and now, I’m calling for Weezer to remind the music industry why they’ve been around three times as long as most of their peers by giving us a Pinkerton Tour, a national, intimate showcase of the band’s sophomore LP from top to bottom.

I can already feel your judgmental heads shaking at your computer screens and I know what some of you are thinking: “Dion, The Blue Album is Weezer’s best record. They should tour that one instead!” First of all, stop talking out loud to yourself. It’s weird. Secondly, I love The Blue Album. That record mixes sugary sweet pop-tunes with a subtle, nerdy toughness that only Rivers Cuomo and Co. can pull off (although Ludo’s pretty damn good at it too. Maybe they should support Weezer on this hypothetical Pinkerton Tour). It makes for a fantastically satisfying record. Still, Pinkerton takes it one step further. When that record pops, it’s sweeter. When it punches, it hits harder. The lyrics, while never stellar, are so painfully personal that you can’t help but empathize with Cuomo when he sings, “I’m a pig, I’m a dog/So excuse me if I drool”.

Ever since the critical and commercial failure of Pinkerton, Weezer haven’t quite had  that same kick. Maybe they’ve actually lost it and the group no longer has the angst to present art in the way they did way back in 1996. I, for one, won’t believe it until I see it. Say what you want about the group these days. I may not believe in them anymore but I believe in the emotions through which Pinkerton was manifested. Weezer can bring it back. I know they can.

So, if anyone from Weezer or Weezer’s management happen to read this rambling, incoherent, mess of a blog post, get working on that tour. Hell, I’m even sure you can make some pretty nice bank from it as well (I’m meeting you halfway, Live Nation). If it comes around, I’ll be the first one in line to buy tickets, with all the aging emos, new Weezer fans, and anyone else who was touched by that fantastic record.

PS. Maybe Matt Sharp could play a few dates as well, if that’s not too much to ask…

